Photographing jewelry is not an easy task

Marcia Myrick Siany is an exceptional jewelry artist who works with metals, enamels and semi precious stones. She needed some photos of her work that showed the details and unique qualities. I chose grey as a background and wanted to use a fixed lens. All my macro lenses are zooms which I feel are not as sharp so I put a doubler ring on my 85mm 1:18 lens which did the trick. I did not want flat light so used two thin spot lights and one overhead to allow for the front of the grey to be lighter and made a cave with black velvet as a roof. The earrings were shot with a 8x10 brushed plexiglass  with two holes drilled for the earrings to fit into. The artist supplied this. SInce I use daylight florescent lights with no strobe I did have a problem with the chains which moved when hung even with the slightest air movements.

Marcia Myrick Siany is an exceptional jewelry artist who works with metals, enamels and semi precious stones. She needed some photos of her work that showed the details and unique qualities. I chose grey as a background and wanted to use a fixed lens. All my macro lenses are zooms which I feel are not as sharp so I put a doubler ring on my 85mm 1:18 lens which did the trick. I did not want flat light so used two thin spot lights and one overhead to allow for the front of the grey to be lighter and made a cave with black velvet as a roof. The earrings were shot with a 8×10 brushed plexiglass with two holes drilled for the earrings to fit into. The artist supplied this. SInce I use daylight florescent lights with no strobe I did have a problem with the chains which moved when hung even with the slightest air movements.

Leave a Reply

