Photographers have a variety of portraits to be challenged with

familybw Tracy Bill celebrate Tracy and Bill helicopter Friedline concert beach baby

As a photographer, part of our job is to try to figure out what the client is interested in prior to the session so you can be prepared. I spend time with bringing the best equipment and lenses for each different scenario and in my studio, have backdrops hung and props ready before the client shows up. My job is to make them as comfortable as possible and being prepared gives them more trust in me as I direct and pose them. With so many people taking photography as a hobbist or wanting to get into the business...what sets a professional apart is the ability to pose and direct. I have learned to gently guide my subjects into the poses I need and give them the security that they are in good hands.  Anyone can click a shutter but  getting an attractive pose that is natural and not too stiff is a skill that is learned with experience. Understanding how light wraps around your subjects and being able to retouch to enhance the capture is also a difference.

As a photographer, part of our job is to try to figure out what the client is interested in prior to the session so you can be prepared. I spend time with bringing the best equipment and lenses for each different scenario and in my studio, have backdrops hung and props ready before the client shows up. My job is to make them as comfortable as possible and being prepared gives them more trust in me as I direct and pose them. With so many people taking photography as a hobbist or wanting to get into the business…what sets a professional apart is the ability to pose and direct. I have learned to gently guide my subjects into the poses I need and give them the security that they are in good hands. Anyone can click a shutter but getting an attractive pose that is natural and not too stiff is a skill that is learned with experience. Understanding how light wraps around your subjects and being able to retouch to enhance the capture is also a difference.

Leave a Reply

